[OpenStack Foundation] 2015 Individual Director Election results

Jonathan Bryce jonathan at openstack.org
Fri Jan 16 20:02:10 UTC 2015

Hello everyone,

The 2015 election of Individual Directors has closed. The raw results are available at the following link:


The full list of 2015 Board Directors is included in alphabetical order below. 

The Director Diversity requirement in the Bylaws, which limits the number of Board members to 2 per company, came into effect this election. As you can see from the raw results linked above, two candidates who finished in the top 8, Monty Taylor and Kyle Mestery, work for the same company (HP). Since Eileen Evans of HP is already on the board as a Platinum Member appointee, only one Individual Member from HP can sit on the Board as an Individual Director.  With a higher number of votes, Monty Taylor will be seated on the 2015 Board. This also means Rob Hirschfeld will be seated as the candidate with the next highest number of votes who would not create a Director Diversity violation per 4.17 (c) in the Bylaws.

The elected and appointed directors will be seated at the first Board meeting of the year at 12:00pm PST on January 28th: https://wiki.openstack.org/wiki/Governance/Foundation/28Jan2015BoardMeeting

Thank you to everyone who participated in this year's Individual Director election and congratulations to our new and returning directors. On a personal note, it was great to see so such a strong list of candidates and such enthusiasm around the Individual Director elections. There are a limited number of Board seats, but there are numerous ways to get involved and show leadership in the community, whether it's through contributions or working groups or speaking opportunities. This is going to be an important year for OpenStack, and I look forward to working with all of you.


Individual Directors
Tim Bell
Russell Bryant
Alex Freedland
Rob Hirschfeld
Vishvananda Ishaya
Kavit Munshi
Egle Sigler
Monty Taylor

Platinum Directors
Alan Clark
Eileen Evans
Toby Ford
Van Lindberg
Mark McLoughlin
Todd Moore
Imad Sousou
John Zannos

Gold Directors
Simon Anderson
Robert Esker
Tristan Goode
Steven Hallett
Chris Kemp
Boris Renski
Sean Roberts
Lew Tucker

More information about the Foundation mailing list